Home >> Press Releases >> Press Release Detail


Rashtrapati Bhavan : 04.04.2016

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee will confer the National Geoscience Awards - 2014tomorrow(April 5, 2016) at a function to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan at 1300 hrs.

The National Geoscience Awards, previously known as the National Mineral Awards, was instituted by the Ministry of Mines in 1966, to honour individuals and teams of scientists for their extraordinary achievements and outstanding contributions in fundamental and applied geosciences and mining and allied fields.

Thirty-three geoscientists will receive the National Geoscience Awards (NGA-2014) tomorrow which include one Award for Excellence, one Young Scientist Award and nineteen individual and / or team awards in 16 fields of geosciences. Prof. A.K. Singhvi, Honorary Professor, PRL Ahmadabad will receive the Award for Excellence for his outstanding contributions in the field of Quaternary Geology and Dr. Indra Kumar Sen, Assistant professor, IIT, Kanpur will receive the Young Scientist Award for his contributions in the field of geochemical evolution of earth.

The National Geoscience Awards carries a cash prize and a certificate. Till date (i.e. up to NGA-2013), seven hundred twenty one geoscientists have been honoured with the National Geoscience Awards.

This release issued 1200 hrs.