Home >> Press Releases >> Press Release Detail


Rashtrapati Bhavan : 05.03.2015

The Writers/Artists in-Residence Programme, 2015 will be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan from 7th to 21stMarch, 2015.

The Writers selected for the 2015 programme includeShri Vikram Sampath, Writer in English language as well as Ms. Gayatribala Panda, writer in Odiya language. Shri Sampath’s book "My name is Gauhar Jaan” won both Sahitya Akademi’s Yuva Puraskar in 2012 and the ARSC International Award for excellence in Historical Research in New York. Ms. Panda won the 2011 Kendra Sahitya Akademy Yuva Puraskar for her poetry collection ‘GAAN’. She has also received the state youth Award for poetry in 2000.

The Artists selected for the programme include Shri Rajesh P. Kargutkar, painter based in Mumbai and Shri Haobam Sanaton Singh, painter from Manipur.

During their stay at Rashtrapati Bhavan, artists and writers will interact with office bearers of Sahitya Akademi, Lalit Kala Akademi, National Gallery of Modern Art, prominent artists and writers etc. and also visit historical places of Delhi, museums, art galleries etc.

The ‘In-Residence’ Programme for writers and artists was launched by the President of India on December 11, 2013 with a view to encourage senior artists as well as young and upcoming talent by facilitating them stay close to nature in the picturesque and serene surroundings of Rashtrapati Bhavan. The Programme seeks to provide an environment which will inspire creative thinking and rejuvenate artistic impulses.

Applications had been invited online to select upcoming and established writers/artists for the writers and artists in residence Scheme, 2015. A total of 179 applications were received out of which four were selected by a high level committee headed by Secretary to the President.

Shri Jogen Chowdhary, MP (Rajya Sabha) and Prof. Emeritus of Visva Bharati University, Santiniketan was the first Artist In-Residence. Subsequently, two writers and two Artists In Residence stayed in Rashtrapati Bhavan from 8-26 September, 2014.

This release issued 1920 hrs.