Home >> Press Releases >> Press Release Detail


Rashtrapati Bhavan : 11.05.2013

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee attended the National Technology Day Function and presented National Technological Awards today (May 11, 2013) at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi.

Speaking on the occasion, the President said that globalization has rewritten the rules of business. He said that the most competitive and resilient companies can expect to survive in the fiercely global market. He added that we must make sure we have the capacity to compete, to innovate and to deliver on time. If our systems are strong and robust, the world will respect us and be willing to work with us. In this context, the theme of the National Technology Day this year, "Innovation - Making a Differenceā€¯, is timely and appropriate, he said.

The President said that the future prosperity of India in the new knowledge economy will increasingly depend on its ability to generate new ideas, processes and solutions. He added that the process of innovation shall convert knowledge into social good and economic wealth. In a globally competitive world, India has to unleash its innovation potential to increase capacity, productivity, efficiency and inclusive growth, he said.

The President stated that the needs and requirements of our democratic polity are different from the other nations. He added that our priorities for innovation should be conditioned by our socio-economic realities. The Indian innovation strategy, therefore, has to be different. It should focus on generating ideas that promote inclusive growth and benefit people at the bottom of the socio-economic pyramid. He further stated that to conceive a sustainable growth strategy, we must focus on inclusive innovation.

The President stressed that innovation in thought, innovation in effort and an all-pervasive innovative spirit can maintain our position and status in the fast changing world, where technological obsolescence is the order of the day.

Among the dignitaries present on the occasion were Shri S Jaipal Reddy, Union Minister of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr. T. Ramasami, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and Prof. S.K. Brahmachari, Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research and Director General Council of Scientific and Industrial Research.

This release issued at 1335 hrs