Home >> Press Releases >> Press Release Detail


Rashtrapati Bhavan : 28.08.2015

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee will present the National Sports Awards at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan tomorrow (August 29, 2015).


The National Sports Awards comprise of:

·Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award (instituted in 1991-92) given for the most spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years immediately preceding the year during which the award is to be given. The awardee is given a medal, ceremonial dress, certificate and award money of Rs. 7.5 lakh.


·Dhyanchand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games (instituted in the year 2002) given to sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to the promotion of sports even after their retirement from active sporting career;

·Arjuna Awards (instituted in 1961) given to sportspersons for consistently outstanding performance for four years preceding the year of award and for qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline;

·Dronacharya Awards (instituted in 1985) given to eminent Coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions;

·Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards which are the highest national recognition for outstanding achievement in the field of adventure activities;

·Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy (instituted in 1956-57) to top overall performing university in Inter-University Tournaments and

·Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar to recognize contribution made to sports development by entities other than sportspersons and coaches.

This release issued at 1210 hrs.