Home >> Press Releases >> Press Release Detail


Rashtrapati Bhavan : 28.09.2013

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee inaugurated an All India Seminar on "Directive Principles of Indian Constitution and Inclusive Growth” organized by the Confederation of Indian Bar in association with Konrad Adenauer Foundation today (September 28, 2013) at a function at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi.

Speaking on the occasion, the President said that this is an occasion to rededicate ourselves to the cause of inclusive growth through greater application of Directive Principles in policymaking. He said that with the Chief Justice of India presiding over the Inaugural session and senior Judges of the Apex Court presiding over the working sessions, he was quite confident of innovative answers emerging from the Seminar.

The President said that the raison d’etre for our founding fathers to include the Directive Principles in the Constitution was the attainment of inclusive growth of the country through the development of every individual. He emphasized that it is the cherished goal of every democracy to ensure that each individual feels empowered to not only participate in the political process but also become a part of the economic development and social change. He stated that our development process has been marked by inclusiveness. Our efforts in prioritizing universal healthcare and education have been commendable. Citizens of this country have been empowered by providing them with security for food, education and job. They have been given entitlements backed by legal guarantees. These initiatives, driven by the principles of citizen welfare, have made inclusive development of India a reality, he added.

The first copy of the book ‘Justice, Courts and Delays’ written by Dr. Arun Mohan was presented to the President on the occasion.

Dignitaries present on the occasion were Shri Justice P. Sathasivan, Chief Justice of India, Shri Parvin H. Parekh, President, Confederation of Indian Bar and Shri Harish N. Salve, Chairperson, Reception Committee.

This release issued at 1400 hrs